Home brewing: Flavoured gin

It’s Friday, and I’ve got the perfect post for you:

In January I turned 20, and in a post around that time I mentioned that my grandparents had bought me a sloe gin maker.

It was a really good present, and the idea behind it is something any student can appreciate. With the kit, you’re basically taking some cheap, disgusting tasting alcohol (i.e. Sainsbury’s basics), adding some sugar and fruit, and what you come out with is about a litre of quirky, sweet tasting booze.

DSC04353

For the past month and a half I’ve been brewing some cherry and raspberry gin. I couldn’t find any gin berries and so decided to come up with some flavours of my own.

I haven’t opened the jar yet, and so don’t know what it tastes like but in this post I want to show you what I did because there’s slow mo involved, and you know, slow mo is always cool.

What you’ll need for this:Β 

1 litre of gin
300g of sugar
200g of cherries
200g of raspberries

DSC04356

DSC04357

DSC04358
DSC04359

Cheap alcohol usually tastes rank, but as a student, on a limited budget, it’s quite often an option you’re forced to turn to if you’re planning a night out. However, all you have to do with this kit is bung everything into an airtight jar, give it a shake once or twice a week, and forget about it for a while. Then once it’s sufficiently infused, strain it and bung it in a couple of bottles for later.

When I drink, which isn’t actually very often, I always opt for something fruity. I can’t drink stuff like scruppy and beer, they’re just disgusting, and if I’m going to get drunk I’d rather enjoy the process of doing it, so this brewing kit is perfect for me.

Right now it’s a deep scarlet, tucked away in the corner of my room, and I can’t wait to try it. My housemate is brewing her own, only she’s doing a ginger, rhubarb and strawberry vodka, and we’re having a competition to see who’s is the nicest.

If you’re interested to see how this turns out, I’m planning on opening it sometime in March and when I do, I’ll post on instagram what I think – so if you’re interested, my profile is linked in the bar above.

I saw a recipe the other day for mint Aero vodka, which is just weird and I’m not sure how that would work, but if you’ve brewed anything cool before, then do comment below! I want to get a chain of kits going, and start experimenting with flavour, so do let me know if you’ve got any interesting suggestions.

cashmere cat, With Me
– The perfect soundtrack to an intense essay writing session

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Arielle says:

    I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other πŸ™‚ I am so glad I got to discover you ❀

Leave a Reply

