Greek Yoghurt, Agave Nectar and Fruity Muesli

So last week was my birthday, and I spent it revising for an exam which was the next day. It wasn’t terribly exciting, but I got some cool stuff to distract me from the exam-time-stress. I’m not entirely sure opening and playing with new shiny things did great things for my revision, but I won’t know until I get my results, at which point what’s done is done… and then, at least I’ll have the shiny things, if not the results I wanted.

My grandparents got me a sloe gin maker, which I’m sure will feature here at some point, but in the same delivery my mum also gave me a new E 30mm F3.5 Macro camera lens. I’ve been meaning to get a new lens for some time as I’ve noticed that with my standard zoom, the closer you are to your subject, the harder it is to get the picture to stay focused. This isn’t always great for food pics and I kept finding that I’d take loads of photos and half of them would be slightly blurry as my hand would shake as I pressed the button. With the macro though, already I’ve seen a difference, it’s so much clearer and easier to take close up pics.

The photos below are from my birthday, because of course I used the lens as soon as I got it. I eat greek yoghurt, honey and muesli day and night, but usually it resembles baby food as I just chuck the stuff together and retreat to my room. This time, purely to test the lens, I decided to make some effort and make it look as good as it tastes. So here’s my birthday/revision snack, taken with my new camera lens, enjoy:

DSC04311DSC04314

You know how I said it usually looks like baby food… well, this is what it looked like when I blended it all in and added the apricots which wouldn’t fit in the bowl before it was all mixed.

DSC04317

So this is a mixture of Greek yoghurt, Jordan’s muesli, blueberries, strawberries, apricots and a healthy dose of agave nectar from The Groovy Food Company. Also the pretty bowl was a present from E, which I actually got at Christmas since I won’t be seeing her for a while as she’s off to Australia next month.

Don’t know if you can notice a difference between these photos and previous posts but I think they’re brighter and sharper, which is exactly what I needed/wanted.

Gold panda, You
–Hello revision song, let’s have one last listen before you are retired for another couple of months

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Emma says:

    I’ve never actually tried agave nectar… do you have it for the health benefits or do you prefer the flavour to other sugars?

    1. whysofluffy says:

      Hey! So I bought it a couple of months ago because I was starting to get annoyed at how messy runny honey can be. I like this stuff because it’s not as sticky and easier to pour; I’ve never even considered the thought that it would be healthier, but that’s a very good point! – there probably are some health benefits, do you know exactly what they are?

Leave a Reply

