10 Minute Meal: Spicy Tuna Spaghetti

As promised, here’s the tuna pasta recipe I got off of the sports nutrition talk I attended a few weeks ago. All credit for the ingredient combos obviously go to them. The only thing I changed here was to add some green beans and that literally makes no difference to the flavour so it’s not even an adventurous addition.

Anyway, without further adieu I give you tuna and spaghetti… it’s more exciting than it sounds, I swear:

DSC03746

DSC03751

Here’s what you’ll need to make it

Oil for cooking
4 Tablespoons of parsley, finely chopped
2 Cloves of garlic, finely chopped
1 Small red chilli pepper, finely chopped
1cm of ginger root, grated
100g Green beans, chopped
1 x 400g tin of passata or chopped tomatoes
1 x 400g of tuna
375g of pasta
Salt and pepper

Method: 

Heat the oil in a deep frying pan*
Fry two tablespoons of parsley, ginger, chilli and garlic for a few minutes
Add the tomatoes and simmer
Stir in tuna and beans and season.
At the same time, cook the pasta and drain.
Serve and decorate with the rest of the parsley.

*Note above where I’ve said use a deep frying pan. While making this I used a really big but shallow one, and when it came to stirring in the passata I ended up sloshing it everywhere. LITERALLY everywhere – on the wall, over the hob and on me. Nightmare.

I have a love hate relationship with tomato pasta. Quite often it tastes perfectly fine but lacks a depth of flavour. I really like this recipe though because it is really easy to make but has so much going on and tastes amazing.

Regina Spektor, Us – Remastered
– 500 Days of Summer soundtrack anyone?

Leave a Reply

