Coconut, Bacon and Butternut Squash Soup

In this post I give you lots of yellowy vegetables… plus bacon. Let there always be bacon.

Anyway, I made a butternut squash soup with carrot, coconut milk, gram masala and of course, bacon.

I hadn’t anticipated how hard it is to peel and chop a squash. In the process of making this I managed to break a peeler and wind myself when I resorted to using a knife like a machete and violently tried to cut into the butternut squash.

How the incident happened I don’t quite know, but as the knife sliced through (it took a few swings and a lot of effort to get to this point) one piece shot into the wall and the other half came hurtling at me. It was amusing and strange but totally worth the effort.

Take a look my hatchet job of peeling the squash and the rest of the process:

DSC03687

DSC03688

DSC03691

DSC03696

DSC03697

 

DSC03711

 

I had this for breakfast the day after I made it because bacon. And bacon means breakfast.

But anyway, I’m just going to say it, I don’t even care, this soup was heavenly. Not only that, but it’s really versatile as well. The garam masala introduces undertones of curry so you could literally add chicken and probably pass this off as a korma.

Potential breakfast, lunch and dinner in one bowl – perf.

So, if you want to make this then you’ll need:

1 Butternut squash.
4 Carrots.
2 Red onions.
2 Cloves of Garlic.
1 Pack of bacon.
1 Can of coconut milk.
2 Cans (use the can as a measurement) of Bouillon vegetable stock.
2 Tablespoons of garam masala.
Oil for cooking and roasting.

And here’s how you do it:

-Preheat oven to 250c.
-Peel and chop carrots, squash and 1 clove of garlic.
-Toss the mix in a bowl with a splash of oil and season with salt and pepper.
-Transfer to a baking tray and shove in the oven for 30 mins (or until tender).
-While veg is in the oven, peel and finely chop onion and 2nd clove of garlic. Set aside.

-After roasting, remove from veg from oven and set aside.
-Now cut bacon into little pieces and fry in a sauce pan.
-Once cooked remove and set aside.
-Now add more oil and fry onions and garlic in the same pan.
-Add roasted veg, coconut milk and stock.
-Bring to the boil and stir frequently for 10 minutes.
-Remove from heat and blend with hand-held blitzed.
-Once smooth, add 3/4 of the bacon and stir.

-Serve and garnish with left over bacon.
Enjoy hot … although it tastes quite nice cold too.

Nicki Minaj, Anaconda 
– My anaconda don’t … unless you have bacon.
(I joke)

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Sounds delicious. I completely get you with the struggles of preparing a squash- I end up hacking away at it furiously, often getting into a bit of ‘sword in the stone’ situation with a knife stuck and refusing to budge!
    Jennifer x
    Ginevrella | Lifestyle Blog

Leave a Reply

