Aloo Tikki and Cool Mango Lassi

I woke up this morning craving Indian food. Don’t ask my why, all I know is that I was hungover, and when you wake up in that state you’ve just got to go with it. Anyway, instead of ordering in, which would probably have been the sensible option, I decided to make something awesome.

Luckily for me, our kitchen has an ample supply of spices, which meant what could have been an expensive meal (because my spice collection is seriously lacking) only cost me a couple of quid. So with all the spices I needed and a couple of potatoes, some ginger and garlic kicking about, all I had to do was head up to Sainsbury’s and grab a few fresh ingredients.

And then, upon my return I made some crispy aloo tikki and a batch of cool mango lassi:

DSC03559

DSC03567

DSC03575This was great because all the spices burnt away my hangover, so if you’re in a similar state then I highly recommend that you get cooking.

To make this you will need:

Aloo Tikki

3 Potatoes (peeled, cooked and mashed)
1 Large glove of garlic (chopped, fried in butter and mixed into the mash)
1/2 An onion (chopped)
1 Red chilli (diced)
1 Small cup of frozen peas
1 Tablespoon of grated ginger
1 Handful of fresh parsley (chopped)
4 Tablespoons of flour
2 Tablespoons of bread crumbs (or toast if you’re as lazy as me)
2 Teaspoons of Garam Masala
1 Teaspoon of chilli powder
1 Teaspoon of cumin powder
Oil (for frying)

Mango Lassi

2 Ripe Mangoes (peeled and chopped)
1 Cup of natural yogurt
2 Cups of milk
1/4 Cup of sugar
1/2 Teaspoon of vanilla extract

How to make them:Β 

Aloo Tikki

Make the garlicky mash.
Mix in all the other ingredients.
Form the mix into patties.
Heat the oil up in the pan (make sure it’s really hot) and then fry the patties until they begin to change colour.

Mango Lassi

Put all the ingredients into a bowl
Using a handblender, blend until smooth.

***To make it even cooler, add ice but use a proper blender as your handheld will probably not be able to cope.

Sigma ft. Pamola Faith, Changing
Got to love a little bit of Pamola

Leave a Reply

