Fig and Parma Ham Summer Salad

Recently I’ve increased my training schedule to +14 hours of intensive exercise a week. Around the 7 pool sessions hosted by my club, you can find me at the gym for 2 hours at a time, and, as of this week, instead of catching the bus to training I’ve started cycling the 7.3 miles into town.

All this hard work has just payed off today but anyway, I wouldn’t be able to keep up with all this exercise if I wasn’t eating right. A good, balanced diet (as you guys probably know) will always point you in the right direction if, like me, you’ve got big sporting dreams. So, obviously, eating well is a key element of training and performance. Food is Fuel.

It’s been really hot and humid in the UK in recent weeks which has meant I haven’t always been in the mood for hot meals. Salads have dominated most of my meals, and this one was a particular favourite.

DSC03321

 

DSC03302

 

DSC03311

In this colourful, healthy mix I had some parma ham, asparagus tips, sliced figs, a few chopped up mint leaves and mixed salad. Over all this I drizzled some balsamic vinegar and ground some black pepper. A creamier sauce or a honey and soya sauce combo might have worked just as well as the vinegar, but what went in this was what I had on hand.

Gregory Alan Isakov, Big Black Car
–Summer just hit its peak, so happy right now

Leave a Reply

