Holy Mother of Eggs and Avocados

I’ve got two dishes for you today, and what do you know, they both incorporate eggs and avocados.

First up there’s eggy bread with sliced avocado, tomatoes and smoked salmon, all seasoned with salt and pepper:

Fancy eggy bread

I made this by soaking some fat slices of stone baked bread in a seasoned egg mix and then fried the bread on low heat until I could see that the eggs had turned a nice yellowy colour. While they were cooking I got a little bit bored and made some salmon twirls and (tried) to cut up the avocado. The avocado was a little too ripe however, and most of it ended up disintegrating until it looked a sort of hopeless guacamole.

This tasted great and after eating it I didn’t feel hungry for hours, which, I guess, is what you’d want in a lunch if you were trying to avoid snacking. Although I ate it at midday, this meal is versatile enough that you could whip it up for a hearty breakfast or even dine on it for a fancy tea.

And up next, we’ve got oven baked avocado and egg, seasoned with salt, pepper, and cumin. With salsa and pita bread on the side:

10299523_10203067931032525_6640601498685008766_n

I got this idea off a Buzzfeed post: 27 Next-Level Ways To Use Avocado and I think its originally from a blogger on POPSUGAR

I don’t think mine was as successful as Lizzie Fuhr’s because all of the white of the egg ran off the avocado and on to the baking tray. Could have done with a smaller egg but medium was all we had in the fridge. We also didn’t have an chives at hand so I substituted it for a smattering of cumin powder, but next to the salsa, I don’t think you could taste it. That said, even though it didn’t quite work out to plan, it still looked cool and made for an interesting meal.

Fun fact(s):
Avocados are deceptively fatty, but the fats in an avocado can have a positive impact upon your health. For instance, they can promote blood sugar regulation and are good for your heart. And –off the record– can apparently make your boobs grow – get in ma belly you strange, pear-shaped mushy thing.

 

Soggy Bottom Boys, I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow
–The soundtrack from the Coen Brothers’ Oh Brother Where Art Thou is great, and what’s more I get to watch the film for ‘revision’ … film modules are great.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. alifemoment says:

    It looks really yummy 🙂

    1. whysofluffy says:

      These two dishes are really easy to make as well. If you give them a go, let me know how they turn out!

      1. alifemoment says:

        I definitely will! 🙂

Leave a Reply

