Carrot and Coriander Lentil Soup

My first year at university is nearly over *cue the fanfare please* and I’m trying to clear out my cupboards before I move out of halls at the end of the month. You’d be surprised about the weird stuff I’ve managed to accumulate in there. I’ve discovered three varieties of coffee, the most interesting being one flavoured with cinder toffee, and a litre of barely used sweet chilli sauce. Some of the stuff – like the litre of sauce – I just don’t understand why I bought, but there you go.

So to get rid of some of my open packets, I decided to make some soup and in this post I’m going to tell you how I did it. In case you hadn’t noticed I’m kind of proud, it turned out quite well.

Apologies for the dirty table … the kitchen is a bit of a mess at the moment
Apologies for the dirty table … the kitchen is a bit of a mess at the moment

What you’ll need:

  • A litre of vegetable stock
  • Six slim carrots
  • An onion
  • Two little potatoes
  • A clove of garlic
  • 190g of red lentils
  • A handful of barley
  • A teaspoon of coriander
  • Salt and Pepper

What to do:

  1. Pour the litre of stock into the saucepan and leave to simmer on the hob
  2. Peel and chop all the vegetables up and throw them into the pot
  3. Add the barley, lentils and coriander
  4. Leave cooking until the lentils are soft and the vegetables are cooked
  5. Take off the heat and use a handheld food processor to make the soup nice and smooth
  6. Season with salt and pepper, and serve with coriander sprinkled on top

My food processor didn’t do a great job of pureeing the carrots but the soup still struck a nice balance between being quite thick but also smooth enough to eat in this springtime weather.

If you wanted to make it a little thicker, you could always add some more lentils or potatoes. And if you’re into your spices, a little cumin wouldn’t go amiss … unfortunately our flat isn’t so sophisticated and no one had any at hand. Oh well.

Louis Prima, I Wan’na Be Like You (The Monkey Song)
–Recently signed up to Spotify and I’m not even ashamed to say this, I’ve been blasting out Disney songs all week

Leave a Reply

