Breaking Rules to Break Bread

After saying I won’t be posting cooking guides, this one time I’m going to go back on my word and tell you how I made this. It’s a family recipe, so this its totally legitimate to do so…

Chicken soup with ciabatta
Chicken soup with ciabatta for dipping

This basically involves chucking everything in and letting it do its own thing. You need a decent sized pot but other than that it requires minimal effort and makes quite a few servings.

For this soup you’ll need:

6 Teaspoons of Marigold Bullion (vegetable stock powder)
1.5l of boiling water
2 Carrots
1 Clove of garlic
A handful, or more, of rice and pearl barley
2 Chicken breasts

I eat this every time I’m round at my dads house, and this is how he makes it:

  1. Dissolve the stock in 1.5l of boiling water in a pot over a warm stove.
  2. While thats simmering, cut up the carrots and chop the garlic, then throw them into the water.
  3. Grab a handful of rice and drop that in.
  4. Get the barley, repeat.
  5. Leave to simmer for 10 minutes. 
  6. Find your chicken, put the raw breasts in the pot.
  7. Come back in 20 minutes. 
  8. Rescue the chicken, put it aside and allow it to cool off.
  9. Once its cold enough to touch, start pulling it apart, making a pile of stringy strips.
  10. Return the shredded chicken to the pot.
  11. Like my blog post while eating this beautiful soup

Alternatively, my step-mother browns the garlic and the chicken before adding the stock. It tastes the same, and I can never tell which one makes it when I visit, so it doesn’t really matter which way you approach the recipe.

Or to make this a little thicker – or as they say, heartier – you can do what my gran does and add swede. It works really well, especially in Winter … it just requires that extra step and extra ingredient so I don’t bother.

P.s.
Anyone notice the remnants of the shop sticker on the side of my bowl? I’ve had this set for something close to a year, and have yet to get rid of it. I wonder how many people on the internet are judging my laziness right now?

Melody of the Recipe
The Careful Ones, Paper Knees
–Because this soup tastes as goods as this sounds

Leave a Reply

